Mehr Infos
big-logo

meineBIG

Health insurance at its best.

Interact with the health insurance company simply, quick and unbureaucratically. That is what many people wish for. BIG makes it possible with its meineBIG app. We have set the user in focus and developed an optimal UX.

Interact with the health insurance company simply, quick and unbureaucratically. That is what many people wish for. BIG makes it possible with its meineBIG app. We have set the user in focus and developed an optimal UX.

Asset 1
Asset 144
Asset 147

THE INITIAL SITUATION

Asset 147
Asset 5

“Our intention was to replace the existing app with a newer, better, more intuitive app. We are a direct health insurance company and do not have the branch network like other health insurance companies. As a result, we have to show off our services on our online channels such as app and web. Over time, we have received negative feedback from our customers about the old app. We noticed that other insurance companies that have accompanied us in the market have launched completely new apps. Even those who still have an existing branch network. We urgently had to follow up on that”

Marie

“Our intention was to replace the existing app with a newer, better, more intuitive app. We are a direct health insurance company and do not have the branch network like other health insurance companies. As a result, we have to show off our services on our online channels such as app and web. Over time, we have received negative feedback from our customers about the old app. We noticed that other insurance companies that have accompanied us in the market have launched completely new apps. Even those who still have an existing branch network. We urgently had to follow up on that”

Marie

Asset 4

THE PROJECT

Asset 9

The development of the user interface for the “meineBIG” app was driven by the idea of creating a user-friendly interface.
The user should be able to fulfill his demands on the app quickly and specifically.

The main focus of the app was always oriented towards the service concept of BIG Direkt. Therefore, included functionalities that supports the user in a mobile solution and thus enable, for example, the fast transmission of documents.

The development of the user interface for the “meineBIG” app was driven by the idea of creating a user-friendly interface.
The user should be able to fulfill his demands on the app quickly and specifically.
The main focus of the app was always oriented towards the service concept of BIG Direkt. Therefore, included functionalities that supports the user in a mobile solution and thus enable, for example, the fast transmission of documents.

Asset 10
Asset 9

OUR APPROACH

We accompanied this exciting project with our Data Driven UX Design approach from the very first moment.

Asset 9
Asset 8
Asset 7

FIRST WIREFRAMES AND TESTS

Asset 07
Asset 5

“In the first tests we had some eye-opening moments. Many times you think that this workflow is totally clear. In the process you realize that it is not so clear after all. One cannot and must not only assume that it is clear from oneself. Users usually think differently than you do.”

Marie

“In the first tests we had some eye-opening moments. Many times you think that this workflow is totally clear. In the process you realize that it is not so clear after all. One cannot and must not only assume that it is clear from oneself. Users usually think differently than you do.”

Marie

CLARITY

Asset 9
Asset 5

“We have many complex processes, for example with applications such as the “Familienbestandspflege”. Here you have complex legal forms with proofs that have to be provided. In addition, there is also a strict time frame for some applications. These are all business cases that have many variables, but still need to be mapped in a user-friendly way.”

Marie

“We have many complex processes, for example with applications such as the “Familienbestandspflege”. Here you have complex legal forms with proofs that have to be provided. In addition, there is also a strict time frame for some applications. These are all business cases that have many variables, but still need to be mapped in a user-friendly way.”
Marie

Asset 10
Asset 9
Asset 8
Asset 18
Asset 7

Look & Feel

Taking into account the new navigation, a visual look & feel was designed in addition to the interaction concept, which is based on the existing style guide of BIG Direkt.
Nevertheless, it also allows freedom to reproduce a light, round and inviting design that remains consistent with BIG Direkt throughout all media types.

Taking into account the new navigation, a visual look & feel was designed in addition to the interaction concept, which is based on the existing style guide of BIG Direkt.
Nevertheless, it also allows freedom to reproduce a light, round and inviting design that remains consistent with BIG Direkt throughout all media types.

Asset 07
Asset 5

“In the first tests we had some eye-opening moments. Many times you think that this workflow is totally clear. In the process you realize that it is not so clear after all. One cannot and must not only assume that it is clear from oneself. Users usually think differently than you do.”

Marie

“In the first tests we had some eye-opening moments. Many times you think that this workflow is totally clear. In the process you realize that it is not so clear after all. One cannot and must not only assume that it is clear from oneself. Users usually think differently than you do.”

Marie

THE RESULT

Asset 9
Asset 9
Asset 26

“The result is a clear, clean and fresh looking design that always supports the content and structure of the application and does not impose itself on the user. I like the new app a lot. Both from the UX perspective and the overall result.”

Sascha

“The result is a clear, clean and fresh looking design that always supports the content and structure of the application and does not impose itself on the user. I like the new app a lot. Both from the UX perspective and the overall result.”

Sascha

Asset 10
Asset 9
Asset 2
Asset 27
Asset 27
Asset 29
Asset 5

“I’ve liked it since minute one. It seems fresh, but not overexcited. The app design represents us as BIG well again. It is now much easier to use the key functions: Tests have shown that the bonus program and the upload function for sick notes have to be in focus. The access is much easier than in the old app version. Furthermore, the old feeling of “everything that is on the website packed into one app” has disappeared. We now have a clearly structured service app.”

Marie

“I’ve liked it since minute one. It seems fresh, but not overexcited. The app design represents us as BIG well again. It is now much easier to use the key functions: Tests have shown that the bonus program and the upload function for sick notes have to be in focus. The access is much easier than in the old app version. Furthermore, the old feeling of “everything that is on the website packed into one app” has disappeared. We now have a clearly structured service app.”

Marie

Asset 29
Asset 26

“A great project with a wonderful team and a result that is absolutely worth seeing. We are delighted about the positive feedback and are looking forward to our further collaboration.”

Sascha

“A great project with a wonderful team and a result that is absolutely worth seeing. We are delighted about the positive feedback and are looking forward to our further collaboration.”

Sascha

Asset 9
Asset 5

“We get a lot of positive feedback from our customers about the new design. The app is much more contemporary and simple. Also our Key question was solved very well: We have harmonized our IT infrastructure, our complex processes and user-friendliness. My advice for everybody with similar problems: get experts to your hand. Be open to other things and do not be stiff to what you think you know from the market.”

Marie

“We get a lot of positive feedback from our customers about the new design. The app is much more contemporary and simple. Also our Key question was solved very well: We have harmonized our IT infrastructure, our complex processes and user-friendliness. My advice for everybody with similar problems: get experts to your hand. Be open to other things and do not be stiff to what you think you know from the market.”
Marie

Asset 10
Asset 10
Asset 9

PROJECT MANAGEMENT

Asset 5

Marie Bicker

Marie Bicker is project manager at the Bundesinnungskrankenkasse Gesundheit (BIG), a federal health insurance company. She is responsible for the entire relaunch of the “meineBIG” app. Marie is particularly interested in an inspiring and intuitively operable app, as BIG is the first direct health insurance company to rely primarily on digital services instead of an extensive branch network.

Asset 26

Sascha Hiller

Sascha Hiller is Head of Design and Senior Usability & UX Designer at Custom Medical. He supports you with the creation of wireframes and clickdummies together with his team and brings concepts and products to life at an early stage. Sascha participated at the development of the new UX for the “meineBIG” app since the early beginnings of the project.

LET’S START

Are you interested in a quick, goal-oriented and respectful cooperation at eye level? Get in touch and together we will find out how we can support you.

Are you interested in a quick, goal-oriented and respectful cooperation at eye level? Get in touch and together we will find out how we can support you.

Final Case study export 06

big-logo

meineBIG

Krankenkasse leicht gemacht

Einfach, schnell und unbürokratisch mit der Krankenkasse interagieren. Das wünschen sich viele. Die BIG macht es mit ihrer „meineBIG“-App möglich. Wir haben den Nutzer in den Fokus gesetzt und eine optimale UX entwickelt.

Einfach, schnell und unbürokratisch mit der Krankenkasse interagieren. Das wünschen sich viele. Die BIG macht es mit ihrer „meineBIG“-App möglich. Wir haben den Nutzer in den Fokus gesetzt und eine optimale UX entwickelt.

Asset 1
Asset 144
Asset 147

AUSGANGSSITUATION

Asset 147
Asset 5

„Unser Anliegen war es, die bestehende App durch eine neuere, bessere, intuitivere App abzulösen.
Wir sind eine Direktkrankenkasse und haben nicht das Filialnetz wie andere Krankenkassen. Dadurch müssen wir dementsprechend auf unseren Onlinekanälen wie App und Web mit Service auftrumpfen. Wir haben mit der Zeit negative Stimmen unserer Kunden zu der alten App bekommen. Im Markt haben wir gemerkt, dass andere Versicherungen, die uns im Markt begleiten, komplett neue Apps gelauncht haben. Selbst die, die auch noch ein bestehendes Filialnetz haben. Da mussten wir dringend nachziehen.“

Marie

„Unser Anliegen war es, die bestehende App durch eine neuere, bessere, intuitivere App abzulösen.
Wir sind eine Direktkrankenkasse und haben nicht das Filialnetz wie andere Krankenkassen. Dadurch müssen wir dementsprechend auf unseren Onlinekanälen wie App und Web mit Service auftrumpfen. Wir haben mit der Zeit negative Stimmen unserer Kunden zu der alten App bekommen. Im Markt haben wir gemerkt, dass andere Versicherungen, die uns im Markt begleiten, komplett neue Apps gelauncht haben. Selbst die, die auch noch ein bestehendes Filialnetz haben. Da mussten wir dringend nachziehen.“

Marie

Asset 4

Das Projekt

Asset 9

Die Entwicklung des User Interfaces für die „meineBIG“-App war getrieben von dem Gedanken eine benutzerfreundliche Oberfläche zu gestalten. Der Anwender soll seine Anforderungen an die App schnell und gezielt erledigen können.
Der inhaltliche Fokus der App richtete sich dabei stets am Servicegedanken der BIG Direkt aus und beinhaltete daher Funktionalitäten, die den Anwender in einer mobilen Lösung unterstützt und so beispielsweise eine schnelle Übermittlung von Dokumenten ermöglicht.

Die Entwicklung des User Interfaces für die „meineBIG“-App war getrieben von dem Gedanken eine benutzerfreundliche Oberfläche zu gestalten. Der Anwender soll seine Anforderungen an die App schnell und gezielt erledigen können.
Der inhaltliche Fokus der App richtete sich dabei stets am Servicegedanken der BIG Direkt aus und beinhaltete daher Funktionalitäten, die den Anwender in einer mobilen Lösung unterstützt und so beispielsweise eine schnelle Übermittlung von Dokumenten ermöglicht.

Asset 10
Asset 9

UNSER VORGEHEN

Wir haben dieses spannende Projekt mit unserem Data Driven UX Design Ansatz von der ersten Minute an begleitet.

Asset 9
Asset 8
Asset 7

Erste Wireframes und Tests

Asset 07
Asset 5

„In den ersten Tests hatten wir einige Aha-Momente. Bei vielen Fragestellungen denkt man, dass das doch total klar
ist. Im Prozess merkt man dann, dass es doch gar nicht so klar ist. Man kann und darf nicht nur von sich selbst ausgehen. Nutzer denken meist anders als man selbst“

Marie

„In den ersten Tests hatten wir einige Aha-Momente. Bei vielen Fragestellungen denkt man, dass das doch total klar ist. Im Prozess merkt man dann, dass es doch gar nicht so klar ist. Man kann und darf nicht nur von sich selbst ausgehen. Nutzer denken meist anders als man selbst.“

Marie

Übersichtlichkeit

Asset 9
Asset 5

„Wir haben viele komplexe Prozesse, beispielsweise bei Anträgen wie der Familienbestandspflege: hier hat man gesetzlich bedingt komplexe Anträge mit Nachweisen, die zu erbringen sind. Dazu kommt auch noch ein strenges Beantragungszeitfenster für einige Anträge. Das sind alles Business-Cases, die viele Variablen haben, aber trotzdem benutzerfreundlich abgebildet werden müssen. „

Marie

„Wir haben viele komplexe Prozesse, beispielsweise bei Anträgen wie der Familienbestandspflege: hier hat man gesetzlich bedingt komplexe Anträge mit Nachweisen, die zu erbringen sind. Dazu kommt auch noch ein strenges Beantragungszeitfenster für einige Anträge. Das sind alles Business-Cases, die viele Variablen haben, aber trotzdem benutzerfreundlich abgebildet werden müssen.“

Marie

Asset 10
Asset 9
Asset 8
Asset 18
Asset 7

Look & Feel

Unter Berücksichtigung der neuen Navigation wurde neben dem Interaktionskonzept auch ein visuelles Look&Feel entworfen, das sich an bestehendem Styleguide der BIG Direkt orientiert.
Trotzdem erlaubt es sich auch Freiheiten um ein leichtes, rundes und einladendes Design wiederzugeben, das über Medientypen hinweg konsistent zur BIG Direkt bleibt.

Unter Berücksichtigung der neuen Navigation wurde neben dem Interaktionskonzept auch ein visuelles Look&Feel entworfen, das sich an bestehendem Styleguide der BIG Direkt orientiert.
Trotzdem erlaubt es sich auch Freiheiten um ein leichtes, rundes und einladendes Design wiederzugeben, das über Medientypen hinweg konsistent zur BIG Direkt bleibt.

Asset 07
Asset 5

„Das Marketing hat sich riesig über die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Designteam von Custom Medical gefreut. Wir sind eine starke Marke. Das kommt nur durch beständiges Design zustande – egal ob Web oder App.
Da wurde von Custom Medical einiges an Arbeit reingesteckt – auch proaktiv -, um diese Konstanz zu halten.“

Marie

„Das Marketing hat sich riesig über die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Designteam von Custom Medical gefreut. Wir sind eine starke Marke. Das kommt nur durch beständiges Design zustande – egal ob Web oder App.
Da wurde von Custom Medical einiges an Arbeit reingesteckt – auch proaktiv -, um diese Konstanz zu halten.“

Marie

Das Ergebnis

Asset 9
Asset 9
Asset 26

„Entstanden ist ein klares, sauber und frisch wirkendes Design das den Inhalt und die Struktur der Anwendung stets unterstützt und sich dabei dem Nutzer nicht aufdrängt. Mir gefällt die neue App sehr gut. Sowohl aus der UX-Perspektive als auch dem Gesamtergebnis. Ein tolles Projekt.“

Sascha

„Entstanden ist ein klares, sauber und frisch wirkendes Design das den Inhalt und die Struktur der Anwendung stets unterstützt und sich dabei dem Nutzer nicht aufdrängt. Mir gefällt die neue App sehr gut. Sowohl aus der UX-Perspektive als auch dem Gesamtergebnis. Ein tolles Projekt.“

Sascha

Asset 10
Asset 9
Asset 2
Asset 27
Asset 27
Asset 29
Asset 5

„Mir gefällt es seit Minute eins. Es wirkt frisch, aber nicht überdreht. Unser App-Design repräsentiert uns als BIG gut wieder. Es ist nun viel einfacher, die Schlüsselfunktionen zu benutzen: In den Tests hat sich gezeigt, dass das Bonusprogramm und die Uploadfunktion von Krankmeldungen im Fokus liegen müssen. Der Zugriff ist viel einfacher als in der alten App-Version. Außerdem ist das alte Gefühl von „alles, was auf der Website ist, in eine App gepackt“ verschwunden. Wir haben jetzt eine klar strukturierte Service-App.“

Marie

„Mir gefällt es seit Minute eins. Es wirkt frisch, aber nicht überdreht. Unser App-Design repräsentiert uns als BIG gut wieder. Es ist nun viel einfacher, die Schlüsselfunktionen zu benutzen: In den Tests hat sich gezeigt, dass das Bonusprogramm und die Uploadfunktion von Krankmeldungen im Fokus liegen müssen. Der Zugriff ist viel einfacher als in der alten App-Version. Außerdem ist das alte Gefühl von „alles, was auf der Website ist, in eine App gepackt“ verschwunden. Wir haben jetzt eine klar strukturierte Service-App.“

Marie

Asset 29
Asset 26

„Ein tolles Projekt mit einem wunderbaren Team und einem Ergebnis das sich sehen lassen kann. Wir freuen uns natürlich riesig über das positive Feedback und auf die weitere Zusammenarbeit.“

Sascha

„Ein tolles Projekt mit einem wunderbaren Team und einem Ergebnis das sich sehen lassen kann. Wir freuen uns natürlich riesig über das positive Feedback und auf die weitere Zusammenarbeit.“

Sascha

Asset 9
Asset 5

„Wir bekommen von unseren Kunden viel positive Rückmeldung zum neuen Design. Die App kommt viel zeitgemäßer und einfacher daher. Auch unsere Hauptfragestellung wurde super gelöst: Wir haben unsere IT-Infrastruktur, unsere komplexen Prozesse und Bedienerfreundlichkeit miteinander harmonisiert.
Mein Tipp an alle mit ähnlichen Problemen: holt euch Experten an die Hand. Seid offen für anderes und versteift euch nicht auf das, was Ihr meint, aus dem Markt zu kennen.“

Marie

„Wir bekommen von unseren Kunden viel positive Rückmeldung zum neuen Design. Die App kommt viel zeitgemäßer und einfacher daher. Auch unsere Hauptfragestellung wurde super gelöst: Wir haben unsere IT-Infrastruktur, unsere komplexen Prozesse und Bedienerfreundlichkeit miteinander harmonisiert.
Mein Tipp an alle mit ähnlichen Problemen: holt euch Experten an die Hand. Seid offen für anderes und versteift euch nicht auf das, was Ihr meint, aus dem Markt zu kennen.“

Marie

Asset 10
Asset 10
Asset 9

Das Projektmanagement

Asset 5

Marie Bicker

Marie Bicker ist Projektleiterin bei der Bundesinnungskrankenkasse Gesundheit (BIG). Sie verantwortet den gesamten Relaunch der „meineBIG“-App. Marie ist eine begeisternde und intuitiv bedienbare App besonders wichtig, da die BIG die erste Direktkrankenkasse ist, die primär auf digitale Services statt auf ein flächendeckendes Filialnetz setzt.

Asset 26

Sascha Hiller

Sascha Hiller ist Head of Design und Senior Usability & UX-Designer bei Custom Medical. Er unterstützt Sie mit der Erstellung von Wireframes und Clickdummies zusammen mit seinem Team und erweckt Konzepte und Produkte schon früh zum Leben. Bei der Entwicklung der UX für die „meineBIG“-App war er vor Sekunde eins mit dabei.

LASSEN SIE UNS BEGINNEN

Lust auf eine schnelle, zielgerichtete und respektvolle Zusammenarbeit auf Augenhöhe? Melden Sie sich und wir finden gemeinsam heraus, wie wir Sie unterstützen können.

Lust auf eine schnelle, zielgerichtete und respektvolle Zusammenarbeit auf Augenhöhe? Melden Sie sich und wir finden gemeinsam heraus, wie wir Sie unterstützen können.

Final Case study export 06